Book Image

Practical Change Management for IT Projects

By : Emily Carr
Book Image

Practical Change Management for IT Projects

By: Emily Carr

Overview of this book

Table of Contents (12 chapters)
Practical Change Management for IT Projects
About the Author
About the Reviewers

The change curve

Now that you have identified your stakeholders, you can begin to measure their progress toward adopting the change. Change managers often measure how well stakeholders are adopting the change by measuring their behavior against a change curve. There are different versions of the change curve that address both behaviors and emotions. The two most common curve shapes are discussed in the following sections.

Change and grief

People often associate change with loss. As a result, there are some change managers that use the Kubler-Ross Five Stages of Grief to explain the stages of change that people experience. These stages are:

  1. Denial

  2. Anger

  3. Bargaining

  4. Depression

  5. Acceptance

Using these stages, people will move from the left side of the following curve to the right:

The classic change curve

Other change managers follow what many consider the classic change curve. Daryl Conner, author of Managing at the Speed of Change (Random House; 1 edition (February 7, 2006)), listed the following eight...