Book Image

Oracle SOA Suite 11g Administrator's Handbook

By : Arun Pareek, Ahmed Aboulnaga
Book Image

Oracle SOA Suite 11g Administrator's Handbook

By: Arun Pareek, Ahmed Aboulnaga

Overview of this book

Oracle SOA Suite 11g is the backbone of messaging and application integration in a service-oriented architecture. An application administrator is responsible for an end-to-end administration and management of the infrastructure. Understanding the underlying components, services, and configuration and their relations to each other is necessary to effectively administer the Oracle SOA Suite 11g environment. Due to its sheer size, administering Oracle SOA Suite 11g is a daunting task.This book provides detailed explanations of all the core administrative and management activities around Oracle SOA Suite. It includes compact information for end-to-end administration of Oracle SOA Suite 11g. It delves into advanced topics such as silent installs, cloning, backup and recovery and high availability installations.Using this book, you will be able to administer and secure your Oracle SOA Suite services and applications. You will follow examples that you can use in your everyday life as a SOA Suite administrator. The book begins with managing composite applications, their deployments and lifecycles and then moves on to monitoring instances, service engines, Weblogic Server and composite applications. With a detailed coverage of topics like the administration of individual service components as well as configuring MBeans using both Oracle Enterprise Manager Fusion Middleware Control and WLST-based scripts, you will be equipped to work with any services and applications.Towards the end, you will be taken through identifying faults & exceptions, troubleshooting approaches, and securing various components.
Table of Contents (16 chapters)
Oracle SOA Suite 11g Administrator's Handbook
About the Authors
About the Reviewers

Identifying and viewing log file entries

When you install Oracle SOA Suite 11g, you will likely have three types of managed servers available with the default installation—AdminServer, soa_server1, and bam_server1. These names can vary depending upon what you choose to enter while creating the domain. In a cluster, the number of managed servers may increase with incrementing numerals at the end (for example, soa_server2, bam_server2, and so on). If you use a different naming convention, these names may not be the same, but for the purpose of the book we assume that we are dealing with the default configuration. Each of these managed servers has several log files that include:

  • Managed server log file (for example, soa_server1.log)

  • Diagnostic log file (for example, soa_server1-diagnostic.log)

  • Server startup standard out log file (for example, soa_server1.out)

  • The HTTP access log (access.log)

Fortunately, Oracle Enterprise Manager Fusion Middleware Control provides the ability to access and...