Book Image

SSCP Systems Security Certified Practitioner Official Practice Tests

By : Mike Chapple, David Seidl
Book Image

SSCP Systems Security Certified Practitioner Official Practice Tests

By: Mike Chapple, David Seidl

Overview of this book

The SSCP certification is offered by the International Information System Security Certification Consortium (ISC)2. The SSCP is the entry-level credential in this series. With SSCP certification, you’ll meet the requirements of the Department of Defense for entry-level Information Assurance Technical (IAT I) roles, positioning you for a successful career in cybersecurity. This book's first seven chapters cover each of the seven domains on the SSCP exam with sixty or more questions per domain, so you can focus your study efforts exactly where you need more review. The book also contains two complete practice exams that you can use as time trials to assess your readiness for the SSCP and a future in the field of information assurance. By the end of the book, you would have strengthened your weak areas and reinforced your learning to ace the test and earn the certification.
Table of Contents (14 chapters)
Chapter 1 Access Controls (Domain 1)
Chapter 2 Security Operations and Administration (Domain 2)
Chapter 3 Risk Identification, Monitoring, and Analysis (Domain 3)
Chapter 4 Incident Response and Recovery (Domain 4)
Chapter 5 Cryptography (Domain 5)
Chapter 6 Network and Communications Security (Domain 6)
Chapter 7 Systems and Application Security (Domain 7)
Chapter 8 Practice Test 1
Chapter 9 Practice Test 2
End User License Agreement

Taking the SSCP Exam

The SSCP exam is a 3-hour exam that consists of 125 questions covering the seven domains. Passing requires achieving a score of at least 700 out of 1,000 points. It’s important to understand that this is a scaled score, meaning that not every question is worth the same number of points. Questions of differing difficulty may factor into your score more or less heavily. That said, as you work through these practice exams, you might want to use 70 percent as a yardstick to help you get a sense of whether you’re ready to sit for the actual exam. When you’re ready, you can schedule an exam via links provided on the (ISC)2 website—tests are offered in locations throughout the world.

The questions on the SSCP exam are all multiple choice questions with four answer options. You will be asked to select the one correct answer for each question. Watch out for questions that ask you to exercise judgement—these are commonly used on (ISC)2 exams. You might be asked to identify the “best” option or select the “least” expensive approach. These questions require that you use professional judgement to come to the correct answer.

Computer-Based Testing Environment

Almost all SSCP exams are now administered in a computer-based testing (CBT) format. You’ll register for the exam through the Pearson Vue website and may take the exam in the language of your choice. It is offered in English, Japanese, and Brazilian Portuguese.

You’ll take the exam in a computer-based testing center located near your home or office. The centers administer many different exams, so you may find yourself sitting in the same room as a student taking a school entrance examination and a healthcare professional earning a medical certification. If you’d like to become more familiar with the testing environment, the Pearson Vue website offers a virtual tour of a testing center:

When you sit down to take the exam, you’ll be seated at a computer that has the exam software already loaded and running. It’s a pretty straightforward interface that allows you to navigate through the exam. You can download a practice exam and tutorial from Pearson at:

Exam Retake Policy

If you don’t pass the SSCP exam, you shouldn’t panic. Many individuals don’t reach the bar on their first attempt but gain valuable experience that helps them succeed the second time around. When you retake the exam, you’ll have the benefit of familiarity with the CBT environment and SSCP exam format. You’ll also have time to study up on the areas where you felt less confident.

After your first exam attempt, you must wait 30 days before retaking the computer-based exam. If you’re not successful on that attempt, you must then wait 90 days before your third attempt and 180 days before your fourth attempt. You may not take the exam more than three times in a single calendar year.