Book Image

Learning Nagios 4

By : Wojciech Kocjan
Book Image

Learning Nagios 4

By: Wojciech Kocjan

Overview of this book

Table of Contents (19 chapters)
Learning Nagios 4
About the Author
About the Reviewers

Chapter 2. Installing Nagios 4

The previous chapter has described what Nagios is, the basic concepts of monitoring, and types of objects in Nagios. This chapter describes how to install Nagios and the standard Nagios plugins. The process described here does not take advantage of any packaging systems that are currently available on the majority of operating systems.

In this chapter, we will cover the following points:

  • How to upgrade Nagios from a previous version

  • Installing Nagios prerequisites (software, users, and groups)

  • Obtaining and compiling Nagios from source

  • Installing Nagios and setting up a system service

  • Configuring Nagios with a basic set of objects

  • Setting up basic notifications

  • Using templates and object inheritance