At some point in the lifetime of your GitLab instance, you need to remove a user. GitLab offers two ways of doing this: one is completely removing a user from the system and the other one is just blocking the user so that they can't log in anymore.
To complete this recipe, you need to have at least two users: a user who has administrator privileges and a user for whom we can block access.
In the following steps, we will block a user from your GitLab server:
Log in as a user with administrator permissions.
Go to the Admin area section.
Click on Users.
You need to confirm that you want to block this user.
After you have blocked the user, it will be removed from the list and will be moved to the Blocked users list.