Book Image

Mastering OpenStack

By : Omar Khedher
Book Image

Mastering OpenStack

By: Omar Khedher

Overview of this book

Table of Contents (18 chapters)
Mastering OpenStack
About the Author
About the Reviewers
Extending OpenStack – Advanced Networking Features and Deploying Multi-tier Applications

Chapter 6. OpenStack HA and Failover


''Once we accept our limits, we go beyond them.''

 --Albert Einstein

So far, you have gained a good knowledge of all the components needed to provide a functional OpenStack infrastructure. In Chapter 1, Designing OpenStack Cloud Architecture, we saw one of the many ways to design a complete OpenStack environment. Chapter 3, Learning OpenStack Clustering – Cloud Controllers and Compute Nodes, looked at one of the most important logical and physical designs of OpenStack clustering in depth by iterating through cloud controller and compute nodes. Distributing services through the mentioned nodes after considering the standalone storage cluster, as seen in Chapter 4, Learning OpenStack Storage – Deploying the Hybrid Storage Model, aims to reduce the downtime for a given service. Many design approaches can fulfill such high-availability goals in OpenStack. On the other hand, HA may not be as simple as the name suggests: it's the effort to eliminate any Single...