Book Image

Mastering Linux Kernel Development

By : CH Raghav Maruthi
Book Image

Mastering Linux Kernel Development

By: CH Raghav Maruthi

Overview of this book

Mastering Linux Kernel Development looks at the Linux kernel, its internal arrangement and design, and various core subsystems, helping you to gain significant understanding of this open source marvel. You will look at how the Linux kernel, which possesses a kind of collective intelligence thanks to its scores of contributors, remains so elegant owing to its great design. This book also looks at all the key kernel code, core data structures, functions, and macros, giving you a comprehensive foundation of the implementation details of the kernel’s core services and mechanisms. You will also look at the Linux kernel as well-designed software, which gives us insights into software design in general that are easily scalable yet fundamentally strong and safe. By the end of this book, you will have considerable understanding of and appreciation for the Linux kernel.
Table of Contents (19 chapters)
Title Page
About the Author
About the Reviewer
Customer Feedback


Through this chapter, we have touched base with interrupts, the various components that fabricate the whole infrastructure, and how the kernel manages it efficiently. We understood how the kernel engages abstraction to smoothly handle varied interrupt signals routed from various controllers. The kernel's effort in simplifying complex programming approaches is again brought to the fore through the high-level interrupt-management interfaces. We also stretched our understanding on all the key routines and important data structures of the interrupt subsystem. We also explored kernel mechanisms for handling deferred work.

In the next chapter, we will explore the kernel's timekeeping subsystem to understand key concepts such as time measurement, interval timers, and timeout and delay routines.