Book Image

Implementing VMware Horizon 7 - Second Edition

By : Jason Ventresco
Book Image

Implementing VMware Horizon 7 - Second Edition

By: Jason Ventresco

Overview of this book

VMware Horizon 7 has been a buzz since it was announced. One of the major reasons is the introduction of the new Instant Clones feature. This book will complement the product documentation by providing real-life examples of how it is implemented along with the latest features and components of the platform. We'll explore the latest features of the platform, including those added through product acquisitions such as User Environment Manager and App Volumes. Further on, you will also be introduced to the new capabilities added to the core product such Linked-Clone RDS pools. Upon completion of this book, you will have an understanding of the capabilities and benefits VMware Horizon can provide to your organization, and how each of its components are implemented.
Table of Contents (21 chapters)
Implementing VMware Horizon 7 Second Edition
Credits
About the Author
About the Reviewer
www.PacktPub.com
Preface

Removing a Horizon pod from a Cloud Pod


The following steps outline how to remove a Horizon pod from a Pod Federation, and disable the Cloud Pod Architecture feature. You do not need to delete the individual pods' desktop or application pools as part of this, but you will need to remove them from any Global Entitlements they are part of.

  1. Log on to the Horizon View Manager Admin console of the Horizon pod you wish to remove from the Cloud Pod.

  2. Remove any desktop or application pools managed by this pod from the Global Entitlements; this is accomplished using the screen displayed in step 6 of the Create and configure a Global Entitlement sections of this chapter; simply click on the pool to remove and click Delete (this does not delete the pool itself, it simply removes it from the Global Entitlement).

  3. Open the View Configuration  |  Cloud Pod Architecture window within the console.

  4. In the Pod Federation pane, click Unjoin..., click OK when prompted, and click OK again when promoted to reload...