Book Image

Learning VMware NSX - Second Edition

By : Ranjit Singh Thakurratan
Book Image

Learning VMware NSX - Second Edition

By: Ranjit Singh Thakurratan

Overview of this book

VMware NSX is a platform for the software-defined data center. It allows complex networking topologies to be deployed programmatically in seconds. SDNs allow ease of deployment, management, and automation in deploying and maintaining new networks while reducing and in some cases completely eliminating the need to deploy traditional networks. The book allows you a thorough understanding of implementing Software defined networks using VMware’s NSX. You will come across the best practices for installing and configuring NSX to setup your environment. Then you will get a brief overview of the NSX Core Components NSX’s basic architecture. Once you are familiar with everything, you will get to know how to deploy various NSX features. Furthermore, you will understand how to manage and monitor NSX and its associated services and features. In addition to this, you will also explore the best practices for NSX deployments. By the end of the book, you will be able to deploy Vmware NSX in your own environment with ease. This book can come handy if you are preparing for VMware NSX certification.
Table of Contents (17 chapters)
Title Page
About the Author
About the Reviewer
Customer Feedback

Introduction to NSX core components

The foundational core components of NSX are divided across three different planes. The core components of a NSX deployment consist of an NSX manager, controller clusters, and hypervisor kernel modules. Each of these is crucial for your NSX deployment; however, they are decoupled to a certain extent allowing for resiliency during failure of multiple components. For example, if your controller clusters fail, your virtual machines will still be able to communicate with each other without any network disruption. You have to always ensure that NSX components are always deployed in a clustered environment so they are protected by vSphere HA.

The high-level architecture of NSX primarily describes three different planes wherein each of these core components fits in. They are the Management Plane, the Control Plane, and the Data Plane. The following figure represents how the three planes are interlinked with each other. The management plane is how an end user interacts...