Book Image

Architecting Cloud Computing Solutions

By : Kevin L. Jackson, Scott Goessling
Book Image

Architecting Cloud Computing Solutions

By: Kevin L. Jackson, Scott Goessling

Overview of this book

Cloud adoption is a core component of digital transformation. Scaling the IT environment, making it resilient, and reducing costs are what organizations want. Architecting Cloud Computing Solutions presents and explains critical cloud solution design considerations and technology decisions required to be made for deploying the right cloud service and deployment models, based on your business and technology service requirements. This book starts with the fundamentals of cloud computing and its architectural concepts. It then walks you through cloud service models (IaaS, PaaS, and SaaS), deployment models (public, private, community, and hybrid) and implementation options (enterprise, MSP, and CSP) to explain and describe the key considerations and challenges organizations face during cloud migration. Later, this book delves into how to leverage DevOps, Cloud-Native, and serverless architectures in your cloud environment and presents industry best practices for scaling your cloud environment. Finally, this book addresses in depth how to manage essential cloud technology service components, such as data storage, security controls, and disaster recovery. By the end of this book, you will have mastered all the design considerations and operational trades required to adopt cloud services, no matter which cloud service provider you choose.
Table of Contents (24 chapters)
Free Chapter
Hands-On Lab 1 – Basic Cloud Design (Single Server)
Hands-On Lab 3 – Optimizing Current State (12 Months Later)
Cloud Architecture – Lessons Learned

IT service management

Cloud computing solutions are implemented using service management frameworks. In designing any solution, the cloud solution architect must account for how well the organization is prepared to manage, operate, and continually improve that service. The most widely adopted industry standard process for efficiently and effectively providing IT service management (ITSM) is based on the Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL). ITIL structures ITSM into four domains:

  • IT infrastructure: The technology components directly related to an IT service, for example, a Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) OS instance running on a server.
  • Supporting services: The underlying infrastructure required to operate the customer-facing IT services, for example, the DNS server required to reach the RHEL instance by use of the hostname. Supporting services could be referred...