Book Image

Windows Server 2019 Administration Fundamentals - Second Edition

By : Bekim Dauti
Book Image

Windows Server 2019 Administration Fundamentals - Second Edition

By: Bekim Dauti

Overview of this book

Windows Server 2019 is the server operating system introduced by Microsoft as part of the Windows NT family of operating systems, developed concurrently with Windows 10. This book will not only get you started with Windows Server 2019, but will also help you prepare for the MTA 98-365 exam. With step-by-step instructions and easy-to-understand graphics, you will become well-versed with the roles, features, and functions of Windows Server 2019. Starting with the installation process, upgrades, and basic configuration, you will move on to explore roles and features such as Active Directory, Hyper-V, remote access, storage, and printers. The book then takes you through maintenance and troubleshooting tasks to guide you in efficiently managing Windows Server 2019. In addition, it covers Windows Server 2019 best practices using real-world examples. Complete with questionnaires, and detailed answers at the end of the book, you can test your understanding of the concepts covered in each chapter. By the end of this book, you will be equipped with the knowledge you need to troubleshoot, update, and maintain servers so as to ensure business continuity.
Table of Contents (21 chapters)
Title Page

Chapter 4: Post-Installation Tasks in Windows Server 2019

  1. True.
  2. Plug and Play.
  3. Interrupt Request (IRQ), and Direct Memory Access (DMA).
  4. True.
  5. Windows registry.
  6. Devices and Device Manager.
  7. Services Control Manager and Registry Editor.
  8. Service account.
  9. Any changes made to your server are stored in the registry. That being said, the Windows Registry is a hierarchical database that stores the hardware/software configuration and system security information. After you access the registry, you will notice that its console tree (on the left-hand side) consists of five registry keys known as hives (that is HKEYs): HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT (HKCR), HKEY_CURRENT_USER (HKCU), HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE (HKLM), HKEY_USERS (HKU), and HKEY_CURRENT_CONFIG (HKCC).
  10. Services are background services that keep alive the OS. When accessing services through the Services Control Manager, you will notice that, for each service, there is a description that helps us to understand its purpose. Each service has the following start-up types: Automatic, Automatic (Delayed start), Manual, and Disable.