Book Image

Unity Certified Programmer: Exam Guide

By : Philip Walker
Book Image

Unity Certified Programmer: Exam Guide

By: Philip Walker

Overview of this book

Unity Certified Programmer is a global certification program by Unity for anyone looking to become a professional Unity developer. The official Unity programmer exam will not only validate your Unity knowledge and skills, but also enable you to be part of the Unity community. This study guide will start by building on your understanding of C# programming and take you through the process of downloading and installing Unity. You’ll understand how Unity works and get to grips with the core objectives of the Unity exam. As you advance, you’ll enhance your skills by creating an enjoyable side-scrolling shooter game that can be played within the Unity Editor or any recent Android mobile device. This Unity book will test your knowledge with self-assessment questions and help you take your skills to an advanced level by working with Unity tools such as the Animator, Particle Effects, Lighting, UI/UX, Scriptable Objects, and debugging. By the end of this book, you’ll have developed a solid understanding of the different tools in Unity and understand how to create impressive Unity applications by making the most of its toolset.
Table of Contents (17 chapters)
Full Unity Programmer Mock Exam

Preparing to loop our game

In this section, we are going to move away from the testLevel scene and introduce three other levels (level1, level2, and level3) to demonstrate the game loop.

By the end of this section, our game loop will be complete. We will be able to start our game from the bootUp scene. From there, we will be able to progress through each scene.

Let's start by removing the placeholder levels in the Unity Editor. Go to the Project window and the Assets/Scene location. Follow these steps:

  1. Delete level1, level2, and level3.
  2. Select testLevel, hold the Left Ctrl(command on the Mac) key on the keyboard, and press D twice. We should now have three testLevel instances.
  3. Rename testLevel to level1.
  4. Rename testLevel 1 to level2.
  5. Rename testLevel 2 to level3.

We now need to check the Build Settings window to check on the order of our scenes.

  1. At the top of the...