Book Image

Learning Network Forensics

By : Samir Datt
Book Image

Learning Network Forensics

By: Samir Datt

Overview of this book

We live in a highly networked world. Every digital device—phone, tablet, or computer is connected to each other, in one way or another. In this new age of connected networks, there is network crime. Network forensics is the brave new frontier of digital investigation and information security professionals to extend their abilities to catch miscreants on the network. The book starts with an introduction to the world of network forensics and investigations. You will begin by getting an understanding of how to gather both physical and virtual evidence, intercepting and analyzing network data, wireless data packets, investigating intrusions, and so on. You will further explore the technology, tools, and investigating methods using malware forensics, network tunneling, and behaviors. By the end of the book, you will gain a complete understanding of how to successfully close a case.
Table of Contents (17 chapters)
Learning Network Forensics
About the Author
About the Reviewers

Malware attack architecture

Let's take a look at the following five pillars (stages) in the architecture of a malware attack:

  1. Entry Stage: This is the point from where the malware attempts to enter the victim's system. This could be done via a drive by downloading or clicking a link in an e-mail, which could result in a browser hijack that directs the victim to where the attacker wants them to go.

  2. Distribution Stage: The moment the victim connects to a malicious website, the site directs the victim seamlessly to a Traffic Distribution Server (TDS). This determines the victim's OS and browser. A TDS can be quite sophisticated and can filter out connection requests based on the browser type, OS, IP addresses, and other criteria. At this stage, the TDS can be set to drop or redirect requests to decoy sites from known IP addresses of security researchers, antivirus, or malware firms. These IP addresses that meet the preset criteria are directed to the third stage.

  3. Exploit Stage: At this stage...