Book Image

Learning Network Forensics

By : Samir Datt
Book Image

Learning Network Forensics

By: Samir Datt

Overview of this book

We live in a highly networked world. Every digital device—phone, tablet, or computer is connected to each other, in one way or another. In this new age of connected networks, there is network crime. Network forensics is the brave new frontier of digital investigation and information security professionals to extend their abilities to catch miscreants on the network. The book starts with an introduction to the world of network forensics and investigations. You will begin by getting an understanding of how to gather both physical and virtual evidence, intercepting and analyzing network data, wireless data packets, investigating intrusions, and so on. You will further explore the technology, tools, and investigating methods using malware forensics, network tunneling, and behaviors. By the end of the book, you will gain a complete understanding of how to successfully close a case.
Table of Contents (17 chapters)
Learning Network Forensics
About the Author
About the Reviewers

Indicators of Compromise

Indicators of Compromise (IOC) as they are commonly known are the symptoms that confirm the presence of the malware malady. Essentially, from a network forensics' perspective, these are artifacts (or a remnant from an intrusion) that, when discovered on a system or network, indicate a compromise with a high degree of confidence. There are malware-specific IOC and specialized tools such as YARA ( that help in identifying the existence of malware based on searches for these IOC.

Typically, IOC include known rogue IP addresses, virus signatures, MD5 hashes of malware, known bad URLs or domain names, and so on.

To promote standardization, a number of open frameworks are available. However, no framework can claim to be the de facto standard. The two most important frameworks are as follows:

  • Open IOC: This stands for Open Indicators of Compromise. This framework is promoted by Mandiant and is available at This is...