Book Image

Building a Next-Gen SOC with IBM QRadar

By : Ashish M Kothekar
Book Image

Building a Next-Gen SOC with IBM QRadar

By: Ashish M Kothekar

Overview of this book

This comprehensive guide to QRadar will help you build an efficient security operations center (SOC) for threat hunting and need-to-know software updates, as well as understand compliance and reporting and how IBM QRadar stores network data in real time. The book begins with a quick introduction to QRadar components and architecture, teaching you the different ways of deploying QRadar. You’ll grasp the importance of being aware of the major and minor upgrades in software and learn how to scale, upgrade, and maintain QRadar. Once you gain a detailed understanding of QRadar and how its environment is built, the chapters will take you through the features and how they can be tailored to meet specifi c business requirements. You’ll also explore events, flows, and searches with the help of examples. As you advance, you’ll familiarize yourself with predefined QRadar applications and extensions that successfully mine data and find out how to integrate AI in threat management with confidence. Toward the end of this book, you’ll create different types of apps in QRadar, troubleshoot and maintain them, and recognize the current security challenges and address them through QRadar XDR. By the end of this book, you’ll be able to apply IBM QRadar SOC’s prescriptive practices and leverage its capabilities to build a very efficient SOC in your enterprise.
Table of Contents (18 chapters)
Part 1: Understanding Different QRadar Components and Architecture
Part 2: QRadar Features and Deployment
Part 3: Understanding QRadar Apps, Extensions, and Their Deployment

QRadar Experience Center

When considering user experience in QRadar, we have to mention the QRadar Experience Center app. This application is developed for customers who are very new to QRadar to help them understand how QRadar works and is best suited for test environments. It provides automated simulations to help us understand how attacks are designed, what exactly happens when attacks occur, and how we can respond.

There are multiple other items imported when you install the QRadar Experience Center app. The current version of the app, there are about 50 custom event properties (CEPs), 36 custom rules, 16 log sources, and 11 saved searches. All this data is then used by the app to simulate attacks.

After installing QRadar Experience Center, logging in to IBM QRadar, and then going to the Log Activity tab, you will see the following screen:

Figure 10.8 – Launch QRadar Experience Center

Figure 10.8 – Launch QRadar Experience Center

In the preceding figure, we can see the option to launch...