Book Image

Digital Forensics and Incident Response - Second Edition

By : Gerard Johansen
Book Image

Digital Forensics and Incident Response - Second Edition

By: Gerard Johansen

Overview of this book

An understanding of how digital forensics integrates with the overall response to cybersecurity incidents is key to securing your organization's infrastructure from attacks. This updated second edition will help you perform cutting-edge digital forensic activities and incident response. After focusing on the fundamentals of incident response that are critical to any information security team, you’ll move on to exploring the incident response framework. From understanding its importance to creating a swift and effective response to security incidents, the book will guide you with the help of useful examples. You’ll later get up to speed with digital forensic techniques, from acquiring evidence and examining volatile memory through to hard drive examination and network-based evidence. As you progress, you’ll discover the role that threat intelligence plays in the incident response process. You’ll also learn how to prepare an incident response report that documents the findings of your analysis. Finally, in addition to various incident response activities, the book will address malware analysis, and demonstrate how you can proactively use your digital forensic skills in threat hunting. By the end of this book, you’ll have learned how to efficiently investigate and report unwanted security breaches and incidents in your organization.
Table of Contents (22 chapters)
Section 1: Foundations of Incident Response and Digital Forensics
Section 2: Evidence Acquisition
Section 3: Analyzing Evidence
Section 4: Specialist Topics

The threat hunting maturity model

The cybersecurity expert David Bianco, the developer of the Pyramid of Pain covered in the previous chapter, developed the threat hunting maturity model while working for the cybersecurity company Sqrrl. It is important to understand this maturity model in relation to threat hunting, as it provides threat hunters and their organization a construct in determining the roadmap to maturing the threat hunting process in their organization. The maturity model is made up of five levels, starting at Hunt Maturity 0 (or HM0) to HM4. What follows is a review of the five levels of the model:

  • HM0—Initial: During the initial stage, organizations rely exclusively on automated tools such as network- or host-based intrusion prevention/detection systems, antivirus, or security information and event management (SIEM) to provide alerts to the threat hunt...