Book Image

The Art of Modern PHP 8

By : Joseph Edmonds
5 (1)
Book Image

The Art of Modern PHP 8

5 (1)
By: Joseph Edmonds

Overview of this book

PHP has come a long way since its introduction. While the language has evolved with PHP 8, there are still a lot of websites running on a version of PHP that is no longer supported. If you are a PHP developer working with legacy PHP systems and want to discover the tenants of modern PHP, this is the book for you. The Art of Modern PHP 8 walks you through the latest PHP features and language concepts. The book helps you upgrade your knowledge of PHP programming and practices. Starting with object-oriented programming (OOP) in PHP and related language features, you'll work through modern programming techniques such as inheritance, understand how it contrasts with composition, and finally look at more advanced language features. You'll learn about the MVC pattern by developing your own MVC system and advance to understanding what a DI container does by building a toy DI container. The book gives you an overview of Composer and how to use it to create reusable PHP packages. You’ll also find techniques for deploying these packages to package libraries for other developers to explore. By the end of this PHP book, you'll have equipped yourself with modern server-side programming techniques using the latest versions of PHP.
Table of Contents (19 chapters)
1
Section 1 – PHP 8 OOP
Free Chapter
2
Chapter 1: Object-Oriented PHP
5
Section 2 – PHP Types
7
Chapter 5: Object Types, Interfaces, and Unions
9
Section 3 – Clean PHP 8 Patterns and Style
13
Section 4 – PHP 8 Composer Package Management (and PHP 8.1)
16
Section 5 – Bonus Section - PHP 8.1

Packt is searching for authors like you

If you're interested in becoming an author for Packt, please visit authors.packtpub.com and apply today. We have worked with thousands of developers and tech professionals, just like you, to help them share their insight with the global tech community. You can make a general application, apply for a specific hot topic that we are recruiting an author for, or submit your own idea.