Book Image

Building Websites with e107

Book Image

Building Websites with e107

Overview of this book

e107 is a PHP-based content management system that uses the popular open source MySQL database system for content storage. e107 is released under the terms of the GNU General Public License and is completely free, totally customizable and in constant development. It is an ideal tool for developing small to large dynamic community websites, intra company portals, corporate portals, weblogs and much more. It has a large, enthusiastic, and helpful community of users.If you want to create a powerful, fully-featured website in no time, this book is for you. This book will help you explore e107, putting you in the picture of what it offers, and how to go about building a site with the system. The book covers all the core features of e107, and it is thorough and incremental tutorial approach it gives you the understanding to experiment with advanced features and customization.
Table of Contents (16 chapters)
Building Websites with e107
Credits
About the Author
Acknowledgement
About the Reviewer
Preface

Chapter 6. Customizing Your Site for Business with Plugins

In the last chapter, we learned how to customize e107 for the particular needs of e‑commerce and in this chapter we will explore and install various plugins that can turn our e107 site into a powerful business website.

User Class

In this chapter we will begin to use plugins for our business site where we want to control who has access to view the information and who may post comments, make posts, upload photos, participate in polls, or download information. These are just a few of the things that can be controlled via user class aka userclass.

User class is assigned through the administrative interface. There are four user classes that are initially assigned when you install e107:

  1. 1. Everyone (Public): This user class provides access to anyone who visits the site to view, post, or manipulate the data.

  2. 2. No one (Inactive): If this user class is selected then no one will be able to view whatever has been assigned to this user group...