Book Image

Hands-On Dark Web Analysis

By : Sion Retzkin
Book Image

Hands-On Dark Web Analysis

By: Sion Retzkin

Overview of this book

The overall world wide web is divided into three main areas - the Surface Web, the Deep Web, and the Dark Web. The Deep Web and Dark Web are the two areas which are not accessible through standard search engines or browsers. It becomes extremely important for security professionals to have control over these areas to analyze the security of your organization. This book will initially introduce you to the concept of the Deep Web and the Dark Web and their significance in the security sector. Then we will deep dive into installing operating systems and Tor Browser for privacy, security and anonymity while accessing them. During the course of the book, we will also share some best practices which will be useful in using the tools for best effect. By the end of this book, you will have hands-on experience working with the Deep Web and the Dark Web for security analysis
Table of Contents (18 chapters)
Title Page
About Packt

Linux Distributions

Red Hat, Fedora, Ubuntu, and CentOS are just a few of the more common Linux distributions out there that you can use for everyday use or, in the context of this book, to install the Tor browser on it and access the Deep Web.

The levels of privacy and anonymity you want to reach are the main factors in choosing an OS for Deep Web browsing. There are several security-dedicated Linux-based OSes out there, which we will discuss later in the book.

For now, let's talk a little about Linux (and what a distribution is).

Linux was developed by Linus Torvalds, a Finnish computer science student, in 1991. In those days, Unix-like systems were the craze, but they were either incompatible with most PCs, or too expensive.

Linux started as a program, specifically for use with Torvalds' personal 80386 PC, but, as time went on, it evolved into an OS.

I won't go into the details of the evolution of Linux, but I will mention several important aspects of the OS:

  • First, it's free
  • It's also free...