Book Image

Solution Architecture with .NET

By : Jamil Hallal
Book Image

Solution Architecture with .NET

By: Jamil Hallal

Overview of this book

Understanding solution architecture is a must to build and integrate robust systems to meet your client’s needs. This makes it crucial for a professional .NET software engineer to learn the key skills of a .NET solution architect to create a unique digital journey and build solutions for a wide range of industries, from strategy and design to implementation. With this handbook, developers working with the .NET technology will be able to put their knowledge to work. The book takes a hands-on approach to help you become an effective solution architect. You’ll start by learning the principles of the software development life cycle (SDLC), the roles and responsibilities of a .NET solution architect, and what makes a great .NET solution architect. As you make progress through the chapters, you’ll understand the principles of solution architecture and how to design a solution, and explore designing layers and microservices. You'll complete your learning journey by uncovering modern design patterns and techniques for designing and building digital solutions. By the end of this book, you'll have learned how to architect your modern web solutions with ASP.NET Core and Microsoft Azure and be ready to automate your development life cycle with Azure DevOps.
Table of Contents (15 chapters)
Section 1: Understanding the Responsibilities of a Solution Architect
Section 2: Designing a Solution Architecture
Section 3: Architecting Modern Web Solutions with DevOps Solutions

Understanding the software development life cycle

In today's digital world, every company is looking to deliver a good quality software product in a short period, which means the efficiency and the speed of the development team are game changers. To achieve this goal, companies must apply a set of well-defined activities and structured stages that define the software development life cycle, also known as the SDLC.

The SDLC is a methodology of work and best practices that aim to ease the process of software development and make it more efficient, ensuring the final product is delivered on time within the project budget and is totally in line with the expectations of the client.

There are different variations and models of the SDLC, such as the Waterfall model, the Spiral model, and the Agile model. They are popular and widely used by most software development organizations. Selecting the right model depends mainly on the size of the project and other factors. In the following sections, we are going to explore these models in detail to help you decide which model is right for your team and the project.

Here are the six stages that are defined in the SDLC process:

Figure 1.1: The six stages of the SDLC

Figure 1.1: The six stages of the SDLC

We have just looked at an overview of the software development life cycle and its importance. In the next section, we will explore the different stages of the SDLC process.