Book Image

SQL Server 2014 Development Essentials

By : Basit A. Masood-Al-Farooq
Book Image

SQL Server 2014 Development Essentials

By: Basit A. Masood-Al-Farooq

Overview of this book

Table of Contents (14 chapters)
SQL Server 2014 Development Essentials
About the Author
About the Reviewers

Chapter 2. Understanding DDL and DCL Statements in SQL Server

Once you have completed the physical design phase of the database design process, the next step is to implement your proposed database solution.

The Structured Query Language (SQL) of Microsoft SQL Server is called Transact-SQL (T-SQL). The Transact-SQL statements have three categories: Data Definition Language (DDL) statements, Data Control Language (DCL) statements, and Data Manipulation Language (DML) statements that can be used to create, modify, and query SQL Server databases and tables.

In this chapter, we'll be covering the following topics:

  • Understanding DDL, DCL, and DML language elements

  • Understanding the purpose of SQL Server 2014 system databases

  • Exploring database recovery models

  • Creating and modifying databases

  • Creating and modifying database schemas

  • Creating and modifying tables

  • Grating, revoking, and denying permissions to securables