Book Image

SQL Server 2014 Development Essentials

By : Basit A. Masood-Al-Farooq
Book Image

SQL Server 2014 Development Essentials

By: Basit A. Masood-Al-Farooq

Overview of this book

Table of Contents (14 chapters)
SQL Server 2014 Development Essentials
About the Author
About the Reviewers

Understanding the DDL, DCL, and DML language elements

As mentioned earlier, the Transact-SQL statements have three categories: DDL statements, DCL statements, and DML statements. Each of the commands in these categories include keywords and parameters that can be used to create, modify, and query SQL Server 2014 databases and tables. Let's have a quick look at the keywords and the purpose of each T-SQL statement type in the following sections.

Data Definition Language (DDL) statements

The T-SQL DDL statements include keywords that you can use to create databases and database objects, modify databases and database objects, and remove databases and database objects. The DDL statements consist of the following keywords: CREATE, ALTER, and DROP. Using these DDL keywords, you can create and modify the structure of your databases and create and modify all kinds of database objects (tables, schemas, indexes, stored procedures, functions, views, triggers, login accounts, database users, server and...