Book Image

Nagios Core Administration Cookbook - Second Edition

By : Tom Ryder
Book Image

Nagios Core Administration Cookbook - Second Edition

By: Tom Ryder

Overview of this book

Nagios Core is an open source monitoring framework suitable for any network that ensures both internal and customer-facing services are running correctly and manages notification and reporting behavior to diagnose and fix outages promptly. It allows very fine configuration of exactly when, where, what, and how to check network services to meet both the uptime goals of your network and systems team and the needs of your users. This book shows system and network administrators how to use Nagios Core to its fullest as a monitoring framework for checks on any kind of network services, from the smallest home network to much larger production multi-site services. You will discover that Nagios Core is capable of doing much more than pinging a host or to see whether websites respond. The recipes in this book will demonstrate how to leverage Nagios Core's advanced configuration, scripting hooks, reports, data retrieval, and extensibility to integrate it with your existing systems, and to make it the rock-solid center of your network monitoring world.
Table of Contents (18 chapters)
Nagios Core Administration Cookbook Second Edition
About the Author
About the Reviewer

Specifying the number of failed checks before notification

In this recipe, we'll learn how to arrange Nagios Core configuration to send notifications about problems with a host or service only after a check has been repeated a certain number of times and failed each time.

This can be an ideal arrangement for non-critical hosts that occasionally have "blips" or short outages and only become problematic if they remain down after repeated checks. It prevents sending notifications on the first check, only sending them if the problem turns out to be consistent.

Getting ready

You should have a Nagios Core 4.0 or newer server, with at least one host configured already. We'll use the example of, a host defined in its own file. We'll arrange for it to send us notifications only after a total of five failed host checks.

How to do it...

We can configure the number of failed checks to be tolerated before sending a notification as follows:

  1. Change to the objects configuration directory for...