Book Image

Apache Tomcat 7 Essentials

By : Tanuj Khare
Book Image

Apache Tomcat 7 Essentials

By: Tanuj Khare

Overview of this book

Apache Tomcat (or simply Tomcat) is an open source servlet container developed by the Apache Software Foundation (ASF). The latest major stable release, Apache Tomcat version 7 implements the Servlet 3 and JavaServer Pages 2 specifications from the Java Community Process, and includes many additional features that make it a useful platform for developing and deploying web applications and web services.Apache Tomcat 7 Essentials follows a practical approach to teach installing, configuring, and maintaining Tomcat. It helps you to understand the middle architecture for hosting multiple websites and also provides the confidence to implement middleware support. It imparts to you the capacity to resolve migration issues and also provides regular maintenance solutions. This is the first and only book to cover upgrading to Tomcat 7 from previous versions.The journey of the reader starts at the beginner level and ends at the expert level. The content is designed in such a way that it balances the theory and practical approach for understanding concepts related to handling middle ware and web issues.In this book, you will go through a three-phase life cycle. The first cycle consists of installation, configuration of Tomcat 7 on different OS, and other configurations related to JDBC, port, deployment etc. The second phase deals with the building of enterprise application setup and high availability architecture (clustering load balancing). The third and critical phase will teach you to handle critical issues, performance tuning, and best practices for various environment stacks like dev/QA/stage/production.This book gives you a wider vision of using Tomcat 7 in web technologies and the skill to optimize their performance using Apache Tomcat 7.
Table of Contents (18 chapters)
Apache Tomcat 7 Essentials
About the Author
About the Reviewers

Types of deployment

The deployment staging mode determines how deployment files are made available to the target servers that must deploy an application or standalone module. The Tomcat 7 server provides three different options for staging files listed as follows:

  • Stage mode

  • Nostage mode

  • External_stage mode

The following table describes the behavior and best practices for using the different deployment staging modes:

Deployment Staging Mode


When to Use


The Tomcat administrator first copies the deployment unit source files to the staging directories of the target servers and then the target servers deploy them using their local copy of the deployment files.

Deploying small or moderate-sized applications to multiple Tomcat 7 server instances.

Deploying small or moderate-sized applications to a cluster.


The Tomcat administrator does not copy the deployment unit files. Instead, all servers deploy using the same physical copy of the deployment files, which must be...