Book Image

Apache Tomcat 7 Essentials

By : Tanuj Khare
Book Image

Apache Tomcat 7 Essentials

By: Tanuj Khare

Overview of this book

Apache Tomcat (or simply Tomcat) is an open source servlet container developed by the Apache Software Foundation (ASF). The latest major stable release, Apache Tomcat version 7 implements the Servlet 3 and JavaServer Pages 2 specifications from the Java Community Process, and includes many additional features that make it a useful platform for developing and deploying web applications and web services.Apache Tomcat 7 Essentials follows a practical approach to teach installing, configuring, and maintaining Tomcat. It helps you to understand the middle architecture for hosting multiple websites and also provides the confidence to implement middleware support. It imparts to you the capacity to resolve migration issues and also provides regular maintenance solutions. This is the first and only book to cover upgrading to Tomcat 7 from previous versions.The journey of the reader starts at the beginner level and ends at the expert level. The content is designed in such a way that it balances the theory and practical approach for understanding concepts related to handling middle ware and web issues.In this book, you will go through a three-phase life cycle. The first cycle consists of installation, configuration of Tomcat 7 on different OS, and other configurations related to JDBC, port, deployment etc. The second phase deals with the building of enterprise application setup and high availability architecture (clustering load balancing). The third and critical phase will teach you to handle critical issues, performance tuning, and best practices for various environment stacks like dev/QA/stage/production.This book gives you a wider vision of using Tomcat 7 in web technologies and the skill to optimize their performance using Apache Tomcat 7.
Table of Contents (18 chapters)
Apache Tomcat 7 Essentials
About the Author
About the Reviewers

Types of logging in Tomcat 7

We can enable logging in Tomcat 7 in different ways, based on the requirement. There are a total of five types of logging that we can configure in Tomcat, such as application, server, console, and so on. The following figure shows the different types of logging for Tomcat 7. These methods are used in combination with each other based on the environment needs. For example, if you have issues where Tomcat services are not displayed, then the console logs are very helpful to identify the issue, as we can verify the real-time boot sequence. Let's discuss each logging method briefly:

Application log

These logs are used to capture the application event while running the application transaction. These logs are very useful in order to identify the application level issues. For example, suppose your application performance is slow on a particular transition, then the details of that transition can only be traced in the application log. The biggest advantage of application...