Book Image

Cloud Security Handbook

By : Eyal Estrin
Book Image

Cloud Security Handbook

By: Eyal Estrin

Overview of this book

Securing resources in the cloud is challenging, given that each provider has different mechanisms and processes. Cloud Security Handbook helps you to understand how to embed security best practices in each of the infrastructure building blocks that exist in public clouds. This book will enable information security and cloud engineers to recognize the risks involved in public cloud and find out how to implement security controls as they design, build, and maintain environments in the cloud. You'll begin by learning about the shared responsibility model, cloud service models, and cloud deployment models, before getting to grips with the fundamentals of compute, storage, networking, identity management, encryption, and more. Next, you'll explore common threats and discover how to stay in compliance in cloud environments. As you make progress, you'll implement security in small-scale cloud environments through to production-ready large-scale environments, including hybrid clouds and multi-cloud environments. This book not only focuses on cloud services in general, but it also provides actual examples for using AWS, Azure, and GCP built-in services and capabilities. By the end of this cloud security book, you'll have gained a solid understanding of how to implement security in cloud environments effectively.
Table of Contents (19 chapters)
Section 1: Securing Infrastructure Cloud Services
Section 2: Deep Dive into IAM, Auditing, and Encryption
Section 3: Threats and Compliance Management
Section 4: Advanced Use of Cloud Services

What is the CSA STAR program?

The CSA is an organization that publishes documents, best practices, and raises awareness for cloud security.

Any organization that provides cloud services should consider being compliant with the CSA STAR program. The CSA has created two documents related to cloud security, as follows:

  • Cloud Control Matrix (CCM)—A cybersecurity control framework for cloud computing
  • Consensus Assessment Initiative Questionnaire (CAIQ)—A set of industry-accepted security controls for IaaS/PaaS/SaaS services

The CSA has created a program called STAR that is an open registry of cloud providers who publicly share their security controls for the various service models and allow customers to download and review the vendor's compliance against industry best practices.

STAR Level 1

STAR Level 1 is a self-assessment questionnaire where cloud providers transparently share their security controls.

Customers should use a self-assessment...