Book Image

Oracle Autonomous Database in Enterprise Architecture

By : Bal Mukund Sharma, Krishnakumar KM, Rashmi Panda
Book Image

Oracle Autonomous Database in Enterprise Architecture

By: Bal Mukund Sharma, Krishnakumar KM, Rashmi Panda

Overview of this book

Oracle Autonomous Database (ADB) is built on the world’s fastest Oracle Database Platform, Exadata, and is delivered on Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI), customer data center (ExaCC), and Oracle Dedicated Region Cloud. This book is a fast-paced, hands-on introduction to the most important aspects of OCI Autonomous Databases. You'll get to grips with concepts needed for designing disaster recovery using standby database deployment for Autonomous Databases. As you progress, you'll understand how you can take advantage of automatic backup and restore. The concluding chapters will cover topics such as the security aspects of databases to help you learn about managing Autonomous Databases, along with exploring the features of Autonomous Database security such as Data Safe and customer-managed keys for Vaults. By the end of this Oracle book, you’ll be able to build and deploy an Autonomous Database in OCI, migrate databases to ADB, comfortably set up additional high-availability features such as Autonomous Data Guard, and understand end-to-end operations with ADBs.
Table of Contents (13 chapters)
Part 1 – Understanding Autonomous Database in OCI
Part 2 – Migration and High Availability with Autonomous Database
Part 3 – Security and Compliance with Autonomous Database

Security Assessment

In Security Assessment, Data Safe evaluates the security posture of the databases and provides recommendations to overcome any issues. It enables us to identify security vulnerabilities and verify that encryption, auditing, and access controls have been implemented. It categorizes the findings into different sections, as shown in Figure 7.18:

Figure 7.18 – Security Assessment

As you can see in Figure 7.18, the risks are categorized into different sections:

  • User Accounts
  • Privileges and Roles
  • Authorization Control
  • Fine-Grained Access Control
  • Auditing
  • Data Encryption
  • Database Configuration

It also categorizes the risk level into five categories based on the severity involved:

  • High: An item that needs immediate attention
  • Medium: It is not very urgent, but planning is required to address it in the near future
  • Low: It’s a low-severity risk and can be taken care of in the next...