Book Image

Solutions Architect's Handbook

By : Saurabh Shrivastava, Neelanjali Srivastav
Book Image

Solutions Architect's Handbook

By: Saurabh Shrivastava, Neelanjali Srivastav

Overview of this book

Becoming a solutions architect gives you the flexibility to work with cutting-edge technologies and define product strategies. This handbook takes you through the essential concepts, design principles and patterns, architectural considerations, and all the latest technology that you need to know to become a successful solutions architect. This book starts with a quick introduction to the fundamentals of solution architecture design principles and attributes that will assist you in understanding how solution architecture benefits software projects across enterprises. You'll learn what a cloud migration and application modernization framework looks like, and will use microservices, event-driven, cache-based, and serverless patterns to design robust architectures. You'll then explore the main pillars of architecture design, including performance, scalability, cost optimization, security, operational excellence, and DevOps. Additionally, you'll also learn advanced concepts relating to big data, machine learning, and the Internet of Things (IoT). Finally, you'll get to grips with the documentation of architecture design and the soft skills that are necessary to become a better solutions architect. By the end of this book, you'll have learned techniques to create an efficient architecture design that meets your business requirements.
Table of Contents (18 chapters)

Security and compliance certifications

There are many compliance certifications depending on your industry and geographical location to protect customer privacy and secure data. For any solution design, compliance requirements are among the critical criteria that need to be evaluated. The following are some of the most popular industry-standard compliances:

  • Global compliance includes certifications that all organizations need to adhere to, regardless of their region. These include ISO 9001, ISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, SOC 1, SOC 2, SOC 3, and CSA STAR for cloud security.
  • The US government requires various kinds of compliance to handle public sector workload. These include FedRAMP, DoD SRG Level-2, 4, and 5, FIPS 140, NIST SP 800, IRS 1075, ITAR, VPAT, and CJIS.
  • Industry-level compliance of an application applies to a particular industry. These include PCI DSS, CDSA, MPAA, FERPA, CMS MARS-E, NHS IG Toolkit (in the UK), HIPAA, FDA, FISC (in Japan), FACT (in the UK), Shared Assessment...