Book Image

ServiceDesk Plus 8.x Essentials

By : Ankush Agarwal
Book Image

ServiceDesk Plus 8.x Essentials

By: Ankush Agarwal

Overview of this book

IT service management (ITSM) refers to the implementation and management of quality IT services that meet the needs of your business. ServiceDesk Plus is an integrated web-based helpdesk tool that assists you in planning, setting up, and achieving the timely execution of IT services efficiently. ServiceDesk Plus 8.x Essentials is a practical, hands-on guide that walks you through the features of ServiceDesk Plus 8.x to help you set up and manage day-to-day IT services. The book also helps you to understand and practice the ITIL methodologies while using the tool for daily operations. ServiceDesk Plus 8.x Essentials conceptualizes the ITIL framework and takes you through the core processes and their implementation in ServiceDesk Plus 8.x in an easy and practical manner. The book will also help you to learn the process flows and manage incidents, problems, assets, and configurations while understanding the scope and responsibilities of the helpdesk. It also takes you through controlling changes and releases and highlights the features of the tools. If you need a concise handbook for a complete understanding of the metrics, challenges and risks of ITSM, then you have found the right book. With ServiceDesk Plus 8.x Essentials, you will learn everything you need to know to administer and manage IT services using ServiceDesk Plus, while making ITIL concepts practical and fun.
Table of Contents (13 chapters)
ServiceDesk Plus 8.x Essential
About the Author
About the Reviewer

Differentiating between Service Level Agreement (SLA) and Operational Level Agreement (OLA)

Service Level Agreement, or SLA, is a widely used term and often has some misconceptions attached to it. Contrary to popular belief, SLA is not necessarily a legal contract, but should be written in simple language, which can be understood by all parties without any ambiguity. An SLA is simply an agreement between a service provider and the customer(s) and documents the service targets and responsibilities of all parties. There are three types of SLAs defined in ITIL:

  • Service Based SLA: All customers get the same deal for a specific service

  • Customer Based SLA: A customer gets the same deal for all services

  • Multilevel SLA: This involves a combination of corporate level, service level, and customer level SLAs.

An Operational Level Agreement, or OLA, on the other hand, is the agreement between the service provider and another part of the same organization. An OLA is generally a prerequisite to help meet the SLA. There might be legal contracts between the service provider and some external suppliers as well, to help meet the SLA(s). These third-party legal contracts are called Underpinning Contracts.

As must be evident, management and monitoring of these agreements is of utmost importance for the service organization. Here is how to create SLA records easily and track them in ServiceDesk Plus:

  1. Agree SLA with the customers.

  2. Go to Admin tab.

  3. Click on Service Level Agreements in the Helpdesk block.

  4. All SLA-based mail escalations are enabled by default. These can be disabled by clicking on the Disable Escalation button.

  5. Four SLAs are set by default—High SLA, Medium SLA, Normal SLA, and Low SLA. More could be added, if needed.

  6. Click on any SLA Name to view/edit its details.

  7. SLAs for sites, if any, can be configured by the site admin from the Service Level Agreement for combo box.

  8. SLA Rules block, below SLA details, is used for setting the rules and criteria for the SLA.

Once agreed with the customers, configuring SLAs in the tool is pretty easy and straightforward. Escalations are taken care of automatically, as per the defined rules. To monitor the SLAs for a continuous focus on customer satisfaction, several Flash Reports are available under the Reports tab, for use on the fly.