Book Image

ServiceDesk Plus 8.x Essentials

By : Ankush Agarwal
Book Image

ServiceDesk Plus 8.x Essentials

By: Ankush Agarwal

Overview of this book

IT service management (ITSM) refers to the implementation and management of quality IT services that meet the needs of your business. ServiceDesk Plus is an integrated web-based helpdesk tool that assists you in planning, setting up, and achieving the timely execution of IT services efficiently. ServiceDesk Plus 8.x Essentials is a practical, hands-on guide that walks you through the features of ServiceDesk Plus 8.x to help you set up and manage day-to-day IT services. The book also helps you to understand and practice the ITIL methodologies while using the tool for daily operations. ServiceDesk Plus 8.x Essentials conceptualizes the ITIL framework and takes you through the core processes and their implementation in ServiceDesk Plus 8.x in an easy and practical manner. The book will also help you to learn the process flows and manage incidents, problems, assets, and configurations while understanding the scope and responsibilities of the helpdesk. It also takes you through controlling changes and releases and highlights the features of the tools. If you need a concise handbook for a complete understanding of the metrics, challenges and risks of ITSM, then you have found the right book. With ServiceDesk Plus 8.x Essentials, you will learn everything you need to know to administer and manage IT services using ServiceDesk Plus, while making ITIL concepts practical and fun.
Table of Contents (13 chapters)
ServiceDesk Plus 8.x Essential
About the Author
About the Reviewer

Stipulating the requirements for Incident and Problem Management

It's recommended that certain things need to be in place before setting up the Incident and Problem Management processes. These are:

  • Clear definition of service requests and incidents: The process and all functions should be clear about what constitutes as a service request and what incidents are. The definitions should be agreed upon before proceeding to the next steps.

  • Escalation paths: Functional and hierarchical escalation paths must be defined.

  • Categories: A comprehensive list of categories should be identified and listed for the incidents to be classified into. The categorization proves to be very useful at later stages in identifying the areas of improvement and establishing trends during Problem Management.

  • RACI: Responsibilities and accountability of teams and people should be clearly stated. Similarly, the list of teams or people to be consulted and/or informed for certain events should be stated.

  • Configuration Management...