Book Image

ServiceDesk Plus 8.x Essentials

By : Ankush Agarwal
Book Image

ServiceDesk Plus 8.x Essentials

By: Ankush Agarwal

Overview of this book

IT service management (ITSM) refers to the implementation and management of quality IT services that meet the needs of your business. ServiceDesk Plus is an integrated web-based helpdesk tool that assists you in planning, setting up, and achieving the timely execution of IT services efficiently. ServiceDesk Plus 8.x Essentials is a practical, hands-on guide that walks you through the features of ServiceDesk Plus 8.x to help you set up and manage day-to-day IT services. The book also helps you to understand and practice the ITIL methodologies while using the tool for daily operations. ServiceDesk Plus 8.x Essentials conceptualizes the ITIL framework and takes you through the core processes and their implementation in ServiceDesk Plus 8.x in an easy and practical manner. The book will also help you to learn the process flows and manage incidents, problems, assets, and configurations while understanding the scope and responsibilities of the helpdesk. It also takes you through controlling changes and releases and highlights the features of the tools. If you need a concise handbook for a complete understanding of the metrics, challenges and risks of ITSM, then you have found the right book. With ServiceDesk Plus 8.x Essentials, you will learn everything you need to know to administer and manage IT services using ServiceDesk Plus, while making ITIL concepts practical and fun.
Table of Contents (13 chapters)
ServiceDesk Plus 8.x Essential
About the Author
About the Reviewer

Understanding the process flow

Let us start with the implementation of the process.

Implementing the Change Management process flow

The Change Management process is very closely related to Configuration Management and Release Management, and hence the process model is designed in conjunction with them. It is important to understand and to differentiate between the types of changes. Broadly classifying, the changes could be of the following types:

  • Standard changes: Preauthorized by Change Management, and has an accepted and established procedure with low risk. Many standard changes are triggered by service requests and directly actioned by the service desk. For example, password reset, standard application installation, and so on.

  • Normal changes: All non-standard planned changes.

  • Emergency changes: A change that must be implemented as soon as possible, for example, to resolve an incident.

The following diagram represents the process flow for a normal Request For Change (RFC) process:

Step 1 ...